Inspiring and developing
young academic surgeons

AAS/AASF 2017 Student Diversity Travel Grant

Application Deadline: August 15, 2016
Apply online at

Awarded Annually

As part of the AAS mission to increase diversity in our membership, we are pleased to offer an annual AAS Student Diversity Travel Grant. This award is presented to three medical students from an underrepresented minority.


  • Department chairs and clerkships directors should encourage eligible medical students to apply for this unique opportunity
  • Candidates must submit an online application consisting, an essay describing their commitment to becoming a leader in academic surgery (300-word limit), and a letter of support from their chair or clerkship director
  • The deadline for RECEIPT of applications is s 11:59pm PDT on Monday, August 15, 2016.

Winner Receives:

  • Complimentary registration to the Academic Surgical Congress being held February 7-9, 2017
    in Las Vegas, Nevada
  • A $500 travel stipend and up to 3 nights hotel accommodation at the meeting hotel
  • Complimentary medical student AAS membership for one year
  • Award certificate presented at the AAS Awards Ceremony during the Academic Surgical Congress
  • Name published in the AAS newsletter and on the AAS web site

Congratulations to the 2016 AAS Student Diversity Travel Grant winners:
Jason Silvestre, University of Pennsylvania
Lauren Theiss, University of Alabama – Birmingham
Livia Maria Mangogna, Sapienza University of Rome

Previous Award Winners:
2015 Graham Walmsley, Stanford University
2015 Yanqiu Zheng, Baylor College of Medicine
2015 Nallely Saldana-Ruiz, University of Rochester Medical Center
Namita Alolkar, Howard University
2014   Asishana Osho, Duke University
2014   Ulysses Rosas, Stanford University
Ayodele Adesanya, Ohio State University
2013   Alexis Chidi, UPMC Liver Canter Center
2013   Allison Martin, Harvard School of Public Health/Brigham & Women's Hospital
2012   Dani O. Gonzalez, Howard University College of Medicine
2011   Andrew Ibrahim, Case Western Reserve & Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
2010   Ashanti L. Franklin, Children's Hospital Los Angeles
2009   Kerry-Ann C.A. Stewart, University of Rochester
2008   Juliet A. Emamaulle, University of Alberta, Canada
2007   Babafemi "Wande" Pratt, Harvard School of Public Health

Copyright © 2006-2016 Association for Academic Surgery · All Rights Reserved
Managed by BSC Management, Inc