Inspiring and developing
young academic surgeons

Joel J. Roslyn Faculty Research Award

Application Deadline: August 7, 2017
Apply online at

Awarded Annually

The intent of this award — which is supported by the Journal of Surgical Research and its publisher, Elsevier Science — is to provide early-career research support to junior faculty members of the AAS.


  • Applicants must be full-time faculty who are within five years of completion of their surgical training and have not yet attained the rank of Associate Professor
  • Faculty in any surgical specialty or discipline are eligible
  • Applicants must be active members of the AAS
  • There must be at least one mentor who is an active or senior member of the AAS
  • The awardee must not be a principal investigator on a NIH R01 or a VA Merit Review Grant and may not hold a career development type of award
  • Applicants submit the following materials:
    • A Cover Letter outlining their career development plan, their short and long-term career goals, and their plans for interacting with their mentors/collaborators
    • Applicant’s NIH-Style Biosketch - not to exceed 5 pages
    • Comprehensive Research Plan - This should be no more than five (5) [single-spaced, Arial 11pt, 1" margin] pages inclusive of the following items:
      • abstract for research proposal
      • significance of research
      • background information
      • preliminary observations
      • experimental plan (methods, materials, potential limitations and pitfalls)
      • references

    (Applications which exceed the page limitations WILL NOT BE REVIEWED.)

    • Evidence of institutional approval (IRB, IND, University Animal Use Committee, etc.) (Please note: Approval need only be pending at the time of submission, as long as the study is approved at the time the funding is awarded.)
    • Letter of support from sponsoring AAS mentor.
    • Letter of support of protected time from the chair of the applicant’s department. The letter should also state that the award will not be used for salary support for the recipient
  • The top-rated finalists for each award will be invited to interview with the selection committee during the Academic Surgical Congress held annually in February.

Committee Review
A committee, consisting of the councilors of the AAS, president-elect, and ad-hoc members as needed, will review all proposals. The top rated proposals will be selected as finalists, and these applicants will be invited to interview with the selection committee during the Academic Surgical Congress. The award recipient will be selected from these finalists and will be announced at the AAS Research Awards Ceremony during the Congress. A one-page formal report of the research project and pertinent publications resulting from the funding of the research award should be forwarded to the office of the secretary upon completion of the research project. The award recipient will present an oral report at the annual AAS meeting following the conclusion of the grant.

Acceptance of Award
This proposal may be submitted to other funding sources for support, but this must be acknowledged on the application form. Submission for support elsewhere will not affect the evaluation of this proposal. However, should the applicant be awarded the Roslyn Award, there must be no scientific or budgetary overlap between the Roslyn Award and other awards or grants. If scientific or budgetary overlap does exist between the Roslyn Award and another awards or grants, the investigator will be required to accept only one source of funding.

Winner Receives:

  • $50,000 for one year to be used for direct-cost expenditures incurred in the conduct of the proposed research project; the award may not be used for salary support. The funding period for this award begins March 1.
  • Award certificate presented at the AAS Awards Ceremony during the Academic Surgical Congress
  • Name published in the AAS newsletter The Academic Surgeon, and on the AAS Web Site

Previous Award Winners:
2017 Christopher J. Pannucci, University of Utah
2016 J. Joshua Smith, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
2015 Benjamin Levy, MD, University of Michigan
2014  Colin Martin, MD, University of Alabama-Birmingham
2013 Kevin P. Mollen, MD, Children’s Hospital of Pittsburg
2011 Timothy Donahue, MD, UCLA
2009 Michael Lim, MD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
2007 Eric T. Kimchi, MD, Penn State College of Medicine/Hershey Medical Center
2005 Julie Ann Sosa, MD, Yale University School of Medicine
2003 Omaida C. Velasquez, MD, University of Miami
2001 Neri M. Cohen, MD, PhD, Greater Baltimore Medical Center
2000 Anthony D. Sandler, MD, Children's National Medical Center

Copyright © 2006-2017 Association for Academic Surgery · All Rights Reserved
Managed by BSC Management, Inc